Stress Rash

The photo shown above is my remaining “stress rash” FOUR HOURS after it arrived!!!  “Stress rash” is my unofficial, layman’s term for what happens to my skin right before, during, and/or after periods of intense anxiety, stress, sadness, or pretty much any extreme emotional reaction.  

It normally affects my chest, ears, and neck the most, but may also be visible on my legs or even my arms, in more severe cases.  

It usually starts to fade away shortly after the situation which caused it has ended.  However, there are rare circumstances which are so devastating that the physical effects may linger long after the causative situation has ended.  I suppose that could signify a greater possibility of long term ramifications from the rash’s origin.  That is my current theory.

Does anyone else experience this annoying and embarrassing physical manifestation of emotions?  I HATE it SO much because it makes it VERY difficult or impossible to hide negative emotions during some of the very situations when it would be best, or more appropriate, to repress such feelings.

This is just one of the endless examples of how our emotions can manifest in physical ways.  I’m sure that it’s not necessary to elaborate on the effect that the events surrounding the arrival of today’s stress rash have had on my pain levels.  To be honest, I would be thrilled to experience the rash alone, without excruciating pain flare ups and an inability to eat.  😢

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

