My New Favorite Breakfast

I stumbled upon a breakfast option that I find quick, easy, healthy, and quite delicious so I thought I would share it with all of you!

I find myself craving it most mornings (or at least on the days that I feel well enough to eat before noon) and I’ve been trying to eat it even when I don’t feel like it, because I have a feeling it’s doing my body good.

If you are wondering what this delicious dish could be; it’s basically my version of a yogurt parfait.

What I love about it the most (other than being soft, which is easier on my face and tummy) is the versatility of the recipe.

I usually include these basic ingredients:

  • yogurt (I prefer non-dairy yogurt, such as Almond Dream, but when I don’t have time to make it to a store that carries dairy alternatives, I substitute another organic yogurt, either flavored, vanilla, or plain)
  • 1/2 banana (sliced)
  • strawberries or blueberries (today I used 3-4 organic frozen strawberries, after thawing overnight)
  • 1/2 apple (diced and preferably organic)
  • muesli (a few spoonfuls)
  • dried cranberries (sprinkled in according to taste)

Place all ingredients in a bowl, stir, and enjoy!

I’m not a health expert by any means, but I have a feeling that this breakfast option contains a lot of nutritious ingredients to help fuel my body throughout the morning hours.

I make my breakfast at work, so this is a good option for me since it doesn’t require any cooking.

It’s certainly not the same as a more traditional American breakfast of eggs (over-medium), hashbrowns, and toast (another of my all-time favs) but it does satisfy my hunger, provide protein, calcium, and other vitamins/minerals while keeping my blood sugar levels in check.  As a bonus, as long as the yogurt is of the non-dairy variety, this recipe also complies with anti-inflammatory diets, which is important for Endo Sisters and others with various auto-immune conditions.

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

