Stress levels may affect Endo

This is very true. I’m in the middle of a stress induced pain flare-up right now.

I was blessed with an almost cruel but wonderful lower pain level last week as I felt much better, physically and mentally, than I have in years. I had almost forgotten what it was like to feel even semi-normal but as quickly as it arrived, in a flash, it was gone. I would’ve almost preferred that it not happen because it was a painful reminder of the life I have lost.

This week has been very stressful, with a worsening of my husband’s condition, additional doctor appointments and an expensive skin biopsy for me, and all of the stress that comes along with it.

Each day, my pain and fatigue levels have increased and they came to a peak today, which required me to call in sick from work, which will inevitably have a domino effect of more stress caused by the guilt that I feel when I have to use sick leave which I can’t afford to lose along with the back-log of work that will be waiting for me when I return on Monday. It is a never-ending vicious cycle that wreaks havoc on my body and mind.

I’m going to try to mitigate and interrupt the cycle with a massage at the local massage school this weekend and maybe even a cheap hair trim and eye brow wax at the local beauty school. I’m jokingly calling it a white trash spa day. LOL! No offense to anyone who takes advantage of similar price reductions. When chronic illness destroys your finances, as it has ours, student services are a blessing and the only way that I can afford any “me time” or be pampered at all. Hopefully I will feel a little better by tomorrow so I can enjoy the day and avoid cancelling at the last minute. Such is life with an invisible illness. Living day by day, hour by hour, and minute by minute becomes normal.

💖 Wishing you all a low pain level day 💖

Bloomin' Uterus

StressSymptomsSo after a particularly stressful day at the office, I decided to do some writing and soul searching and (of course) research.  In all of the books and articles I’ve read, there has been a comment or chapter stating that stress may worsen Endometriosis.  But why?

How Stress Affects the Body:

Stress may trigger adrenal stress hormones, which may alter heart rates and blood flow.  It may also impair our white blood cell count, which can lower the body’s chances of fighting infection, reduce inflammation or even prevent/limit scarring. Gals with Endo know that inflammation and scarring are two critical components of a painful Endo day.  Stress may also cause or exacerbate problems such as headaches, high blood pressure, heart problems, stroke, diabetes, skin conditions, asthma, arthritis, depression, and anxiety.

Science!

In 2008, news reports state a study was conducted on seven female rats.  A team of investigators concluded that…

View original post 813 more words

2 Comments

  1. Illness will increase your stress and stress will cause you to be ill. I used to able do a couple things at once. I can barely handle one stress let alone more. My helph provider is checking out and stress and red tape is getting to me. Take care of your self and have good stress day in relaxation.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

