Two + Days & Counting

Well, I made it through the first day of another three day work week. Sadly the extra two days off this week are not for a holiday or fun time off but for a rather risky medical procedure.

I will likely be missing my division’s Christmas party at work. Since I can barely eat without severe pain that is probably for the best anyway, although I will miss the White Elephant gift exchange. šŸ˜‰

My anxiety level is high but not quite full on “panic mode” just yet. That’s where I was last week but my nerves have settled a little bit.

I think I’m doing pretty good for someone who knows that in 60 hours she will have a camera (among other things) shoved down her throat, while still semi-conscious, until the instruments wind their way through the stomach and into the first part of the intestine, where the liver and pancreatic bile ducts are, where dye will be squirted through the bile ducts, x-rays taken, and who know what else. At that point what happens next will depend on what the doctor finds in there.

At least I have a pretty good idea what they will be doing but I’m still not sure how I will avoid throwing up while it’s happening.

I’m also more than a tad bit worried about the anesthesia since the doctor explained how my current medications and tolerance to sedatives may make it hard for them to get me to sleep (or twilight sleep). I realize that I’m supposed to be semi-conscious but I would prefer not to remember or FEEL anything.

I REALLY hope I’m not the unlucky one in five patients who end up with pancreatitis. Is my anxiety disorder becoming obvious yet?

I’m sure it will be fine. That’s what everyone tells me and I know that the chances are pretty good that it is true.

My main goal at this point is to find ways to stay as calm as possible until the procedure and hopefully I won’t having a panic attack during the ERCP. Since I had once during my last procedure (spinal tap), just before my last surgery, and in the ER when my Mom broke her foot, it’s almost guaranteed. :/ Perhaps I should warn the medical staff of the possibility beforehand … or not.

I almost forgot to mention that my doctor has a theory as to what the problem is. It is called sphincter of Oddi dysfunction. It’s somewhat hard to explain so please feel free to click here if you are interested in learning what it means. šŸ™‚ We’re not sure if that is what I have yet but my symptoms are pointing in that direction. We shall see …

6 Comments

Leave a Reply

