Blogging 101 : Introduce Yourself!

Hi everyone!  I am taking The Daily Post’s Blogging University courses somewhat in reverse order.  I completed Blogging 201 last week and today I’m excited to begin Blogging 101.

Please bear with me as I participate in another Blogging U course, as I will likely publish posts as a part of some assignments.  While they may not always be directly related to my usual topic, hopefully they will be educational and/or interesting to those who have a desire to learn more about blogging.  At the very least, they will help me learn how to become a better blogger, which is a “win-win” situation for everyone.

 Today’s assignment: write and publish a “who I am and why I’m here” post.

I still consider my blog relatively new, but I am amazed and delighted at how quickly it seems to be evolving each day.  I’ve already learned a lot and gained quite a few awesome followers, so I am very happy with its progress.

The main topic of my blog is chronic illness and chronic pain.  The conditions that I will concentrate on the most are those which are not visible to the naked eye, which is why I titled the blog Invisible Pain Warriors.

I write about the daily struggles of living with chronic illness and chronic pain, occasionally touching on infertility, how these issues affect my husband and I in our daily lives, how other are affected, tips on how to deal with various issues associated with chronic illness and chronic pain, along with our challenges and triumphs along the way.

In some ways this blog is a personal diary but in other ways it is a platform for support and awareness.  The reason for choosing to make the personal diary aspect public is multi-faceted.  First, the simple aspect of writing down my thoughts and feelings is therapeutic to me.  Second, I know first-hand just how difficult, lonely, frustrating, and depressing it can be to live with conditions that most people do not and cannot understand.  Sometimes simply having the ability to read someone else’s experiences and realizing how similar they are to yours, can make a huge difference in your emotional state.  Knowing that you are not alone in your struggle is a powerful thing and if I can help others in their journey, simply by sharing mine, that makes it all worthwhile to me.

I also have a couple of weekly features related to music and animals, to lighten the mood and bring a little more positivity into what can be a depressing overall subject.  These features may not seem directly related to the main topic but they do have an indirect connection.

For more detailed information on who I am, why I’m here, and some background on the conditions that my husband and I are living with, please feel free to check out my very first blog post, Endometriosis Awareness Month & The Birth of a Blog.

7 Comments

  1. Hi! I’m looking forward to reading your blog. I have two sisters and all three of us have chronic diseases. I’m the lucky one since i’m the least effected with Graves Disease and not in chronic pain. One sisters has Fibromyalgia (spelling?) and the other MS, so they are both frequently in pain. Thank you for doing this blog I think it’s a much needed discussion.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. A great way to connect with and support others, all the best with your blog. Mine tends to be a bit of an escape from reality, I review books even though I barely have time to read as a single Mum with 2 kids living in a non English speaking country, but the blog is like a saviour, another world where wonderful people reside and visit and share and encourage. Bonne Continuation as they say here!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

