Blogging 201: Audit Your Brand

Day 2 of Blogging 201 was about auditing your brand.  This might sound simple enough, but it was actually A LOT more complicated than I expected.  The initial assignment was as follows:

Today’s assignment: audit your brand — look at all the ways you communicate information about your blog, and make sure they’re consistent, focused, and say what you want them to say. Bonus points: make a test blog to use as your personal playground for testing changes. via Blogging 201: Audit Your Brand | The Daily Post.

I believe my brand is pretty straight-forward.  The title and tag line of my blog pretty much says it all.  The content is usually related to invisible chronic pain and illness, along with anything and everything related to it. 

Some posts will be similar to a diary and serve as a chronicle of our experiences living with our conditions.  Other posts will be about raising awareness for certain diseases.  There will also be some posts about things that make us happy, which may include experiences, memories, funny photos and/or videos, etc.  I will likely also touch on social issues surrounding chronic pain, invisible illness, treatment options (traditional and homeopathic), healthy eating (maybe even a few recipes), miscellaneous things that we find beneficial, and other various items.  I don’t plan to restrict my posts too much but I do intend for most of them to be related to the topic at hand.  However, there may be a random post every now and then which colors outside the lines and keeps things fresh by talking about something completely different.  Afterall, while we do consider ourselves invisible pain warriors and want to talk about that, we are also a regular, middle-aged married couple with semi-normal lives that are greatly affected by, but not fully consumed by chronic pain.

The challenge of this assignment comes in the details, such as the blog’s theme, font, widgets, photos, header, footer, color palette, and social media presence.  These items should enhance a blog and accurately reflect its brand.  I have evaluated some of them but I still have a long way to go and a lot of learning to do to get everything how and where I need it to be.  The most noticeable improvement that I have made so far is discovering and implementing the ability to change individual post formats and colors.  This is where it becomes painfully obvious that I skipped Blogging 101.  😉

Thanks for everyone’s patience while I share and post throughout my participation in this blogging course.  I may not create a post for every daily assignment or then again I may.  I haven’t decided yet.  This will be an exception to my normal topic and “brand”, but I hope that it will be interesting and helpful to fellow bloggers.

Leave a Reply

