Happy Labor Day

One of the many things I’m thankful for in life is holiday weekends.  I am thankful for each one and what it represents (i.e. the “true” meaning of the holiday) but as someone with chronic pain, I am also VERY thankful for the extra day off work.  Every day of every week (primarily Monday through Friday) I can feel my body getting weaker and more taxed, from the daily grind along with work-related and personal life stress which inevitably equals higher pain and fatigue levels which become more and more difficult to control as the week progresses.  Normal weekends really don’t cut it in my world because it takes at least one full day to recuperate from the prior week’s damage to my body (and mind) and then after that it’s Sunday and time to start getting ready to do it all over again.  A three day weekend is seriously priceless for me. 

This weekend, I had all day Saturday to rest, recover, and relax with my hubby.  Sunday was our family day, spent with my wonderful parents, feasting on smoked pork, turkey, potato salad, baked beans, deviled eggs, homemade salsa, and lemon meringue pie.  YUM!!!  I always abandon my on-again off-again organic, gluten free, vegan diet (basically an anti-inflammatory diet tailored for women with Endometriosis or other auto-immune diseases) on the holidays and/or any time that someone else is hosting a meal.  Unfortunately, my hubby’s pain levels could not be controlled yesterday and he did not get to join us.  😦  That is one of the cruel realities of chronic pain.  You just never know, from one day to the next, whether you will be able to function, get out, attend social events, or participate in normal daily activities.  However, we had a great visit anyway and of course Mom and Dad sent me home with PLENTY of left-overs for Billy and I to enjoy for the next several days.  Since I had the luxury of having Saturday to regain my strength, my pain levels were fairly low yesterday and I was able to truly enjoy the day and feel what I consider to be my new “good.”  It’s nothing like my old “good”, where I actually felt great some of the time, but my new “good” is something I’m learning to adapt to and consists of a tolerable level of pain and fatigue that on “good” days still allows me to function, albeit at a lower level than I would like, and enjoy all of life’s blessings.  Today is a typical Sunday.  I’m already dreading the up-coming week, I’m tired, the worsening pain and fatigue levels are moving back in like clock-work and somehow I still have to manage a trip to the grocery store for almond milk yogurt for breakfast next week, fruit, coffee creamer, dog food, and a handful of other necessities.  Regardless, I am thankful for this long holiday weekend and I have enjoyed it and will be counting the days until the next one.

I hope everyone else enjoyed a happy, safe, and healthy Labor Day Weekend too.

happy-labor-day-weekend-1

On another note, I must say that I am really starting to enjoy blogging.  I have been thinking about it a lot and with my somewhat obsessive personality, I wouldn’t be surprised if I post a lot of entries in the near future.  I have started following a lot of other blogs and I’m watching closely for ideas on how to make mine better and more appealing.  Please bear with me while I’m in the early stages of the process.  I’m still very new to this and don’t really know what I’m doing yet.  I’m still learning to use WordPress, how to format things properly, keep my posts concise and not too wordy (that’s a tough one for me), and learn the tricks of the trade.  I really think blogging is going to be a good thing for me.  It’s a little space that is all my own, where I can express my thoughts and ideas without having to worry about offending anyone, censoring my language, losing Facebook friends or Twitter followers, etc.  Since I’m not doing it to make money (yet), I don’t even have to worry about losing subscribers especially since I’m pretty sure I don’t have any yet.  Ha Ha!

I finally learned how to update my profile picture, after a couple of days of trying so I’m pretty proud of that accomplishment (sad, I know). 😉  There are still some issues that I’m working out as far as spacing words to be viewed correctly on both desktop computers and mobile devices but that will come with time.  I posted my last update using my Kindle and that is a mistake that I will NOT make again.  It took FOREVER and I quickly figured out that using a laptop is definitely the way to go.

Even though I’m still on a social media hiatus, I’m pretty sure that my blog posts are automatically shared to Facebook and Twitter.  I’m sure there is a way to change that, but I’m not too concerned about it right now.  For the moment, I’m just happy to have this new platform to express myself and hopefully I will think of some interesting, educational, helpful, and supportive topics that will both appeal to other people and be therapeutic for me and maybe even work in a little bit of humor along the way.

See you soon!  🙂

Leave a Reply

